h1

Titles Are SO Overrated

November 18, 2009

Even though I ended up dropping my Exploring Marketing class, I guess someone somewhere still hasn’t gotten the memo, because I ended up getting today off after being back at work for only one day.  Not that I’m complaining, though.  I spent my day doing mostly nothing, but that was just what I needed.  I’m still exhausted from all the vacation time I’ve taken lately!  I did go mini-golfing with a couple of friends today at Fantasia Gardens and then we went for ice cream at Beaches and Cream.  Other than that, though, I haven’t done much at all!

Tomorrow will be a much busier day, though.  I’ll start the morning with an interview for the Campus Rep position.  I got an email from them yesterday, saying that they wanted me to call and schedule a time to talk with a recruiter.  I really have a good feeling about this.  I can’t imagine that it’s very competitive.  As far as I know, only about 10 people were even accepted from the schools in my area, based on how many people showed up for the meet-and-greet events they held back before we came down.  I have no idea how many of those people ended up coming down.  Even if there were 5 of us down here, I can’t imagine that more than a couple of us applied to be Campus Reps.  I think that, at this point, it kind of all comes down to how well I do in the interview.  It wouldn’t surprise me at all to find out I’m the only candidate, so it just depends on whether they think I would be a useful addition to the recruiting team.  We’ll find out tomorrow, I guess!  My interview is at 10:30 with Anne, who I’m pretty sure is the same recruiter who hosted the information meeting I attended way back in March.  Fingers crossed!

Then I will go to my first regular day of work at Tomorrowland, which, in reality, isn’t all that regular.  I’ll be working a “Call In Factor” shift.  I had never heard of this before, but was told that I’ll just be put wherever they might need me that morning.  If someone should call in sick, I will take their spot.  Part of me kind of hopes that maybe, just maybe, no one will call in.  Then maybe they won’t need my anywhere, and I can just hang out in the break room all day!  But the other part of me knows that will never happen. *sigh* I can dream, though, right?

I really do like Tomorrowland so far.  My last day of training on Tuesday went great.  We worked on Photo Imaging, which I had never done before, but it was super easy.  By the end of the day, my trainer was kind of just letting me goof off.  It was a Christmas party night, so we stood outside and watched the Totally Tomorrowland Christmas Show (which was terrible!) and the Christmas Fireworks (which were good, but not as good as the Halloween fireworks.)

Just a few minutes after the fireworks started, a much more interesting, much more sad show played out right in front of us.  A mom came out of Space Mountainwith her son following her, screaming at the top of his lungs.  The kid was about 10 years old,and I couldn’t tell what he was saying, but his tone made me think, if that was my kid… Well, apparently his mother had had enough, too, because just then she smacked him upside the back of the head, Three Stooges-style.  It’s never right to really hit a child, but I have to admit that it made me laugh a bit.  But then all of a sudden she kicked at him!  I mean really reared back and tried to kick the crap out of her son!  The kid jumped out of the way just in time, and the mom jumped towards him, grabbed him, and held him down in the flower beds.  It was dark, and they were pretty far away so I couldn’t swear to this, but it looked like she had him around the throat!  I turned to my trainer and pointed the situation out to her and asked what we should do.  Just then an Attractions leader came out of Space Mountain and started walking towards the two.  We decided to watch and see what he would do.  He stood and watched them for a while, and just a little later security showed up.  I have no idea what ended up happening: when we left, security was still talking to the mom.  But my question is, if she would treat him like that in public, how does she treat him at home?  Somehow, sad things seem even more sad when they happen at the Happiest Place on Earth.

Aside from that little…adventure…it was a fun, successful training day.  My hours are definitely going to be crazy–I work until 1:15 am the next two days and work until 3:45 am on Sunday.  Yikes!  It’s going to be tiring, but I’m hoping that maybe I won’t have so many closing shifts when I’ve been there longer.  Maybe I’ve just been lucky, but my shifts always got better after the first couple of weeks at DAK and Epcot.  Time will tell.  For now, though, I’m going to take advantage of the early night and try to get some sleep: it may become a scarce commodity in the coming weeks.

Leave a Reply

