h1

If You Need to Send Me A Message, Better Get Out the Carrier Pigeon!

October 25, 2009

I’m not the most tech-dependent person on the planet.  Sure, I love my computer and iPod as much as anyone else, and I send and receive text messages all throughout the day.  But if I don’t have my phone with me every second of the day, it really doesn’t bother me.  At least, it didn’t bother me.  And then today I lost my phone.

It all started this morning: I was at the bus stop, and I was checking Facebook on my phone.  Later, as soon as I had walked backstage at work, I reached into my pocket to check the time, but all I found was my iPod.  No big deal, I thought. Must have stuck it in my backpack. So as soon as I got to the break room, I began digging for my phone.  It quickly became clear, though, that I wasn’t going to find my phone, because it most definitely was not in my bag.  But it was time to clock in, so I had no choice but to go on stage, still uncertain of my phone’s whereabouts.  It bothered me all day, and so I stayed on the bus this evening until it went to Vista Way, where the bus office is located.  The guy there told me that they hadn’t found the phone, but that they would look again tonight.  (Actually, he said, “We don’t got your phone, sweeetheart.  Call tomorrow.”  I’m not the kind of girl who is usually bothered by being called “sweetheart”, but his patronizing tone just irked me.)

So there is still hope that it will turn up tomorrow, but I”m not holding my breath.  The stupid thing was on vibrate, so even if it the battery hadn’t been dead by the time someone called me, no one probably would have heard it.  I don’t know if it’s still stuck between the seats of the “C” bus that I took this morning, or if someone decided that they would really like to have a (very) used LG.

It’s amazing to me how much this has upset me, though.  I was almost in tears this evening when I got home, and, after one last cursory glance around the apartment and through my bag, decided that it really wasn’t going to turn up tonight.  My entire life is on that phone: I had pictures that I will be heartbroken to lose, not to mention the hundreds of phone numbers that I have gathered over the years.  Seriously, I don’t know anyone’s number anymore:  not my little brother’s, not my grandparents’, not my best friends.  I never actually dial them!  I just scroll through my phone book and hit “call”.  Even the numbers I know don’t do me much good, because the phone in our apartment only makes local calls.

It almost makes me feel bad that I’m so torn up over my phone’s disappearance.  Am I that wrapped up in technology, that I can’t just deal with being a little disconnected for a few days?  After all, I still have Facebook and Skype when I come home, and I have a landline to make any local calls I need.  It’s really not that bad.  I’m just going to keep telling myself this, and hopefully it will get me through the next few cell-free days.  If I don’t post in the next week or so…well, you’ll know that it really wasn’t an exaggeration to say that I couldn’t live without technology.

3 comments

  1. hi! sorry to hear about your phone. now you are like us old foggies. it ain’t so bad!!!

    love you Memaw


  2. did you found your phone?


    • No, I never did find my phone. I did get a new one though; my parents bought a used one off of ebay and I got it yesterday.



Leave a Reply

