h1

A Practically Perfect Halloween Party!

October 23, 2009

“Boo to You”, dear reader!  It’s been an EXTREMELY busy week.  I’ve been wrapping up my resume for the Campus Rep position, working on my class schedule for next semester, preparing for visits from friends and family, working (of course!), and trying to have a life on top of all the rest!  It’s been really tiring, a little stressful, but fun and exciting at the same time.  So many great things are happening!

One of these great things happened this past Tuesday, when I went with all 5 of my roommates to Mickey’s Not-So-Scary Halloween Party at the Magic Kingdom.  Of course, we all went in costume: Melissa was a creepy vampire, complete with eerily realistic fangs, Brit was a gypsy reminiscent of Esmerelda from Hunchback, Traci was a flirty German fraulein, Holly was Alice, and Kat was the Queen of Hearts.

Left to Right: Traci, Holly, Kat, Brit, Me, Melissa

Left to Right: Traci, Holly, Kat, Brit, Me, Melissa

As I mentioned a couple of posts ago, I went as Mary Poppins.  I ended up being so happy with my costume, and it definitely got a great reaction!  Everywhere I’d go, I heard people saying, “Look!  There’s Mary Poppins!”.  People would shout, “Hi, Mary”, or tell me how much they loved my costume.  I even had tons of total strangers asking to take pictures with me.  Seriously!  I was asked to pose with at least five separate groups.  The best of these came at the very end of the night: we were heading out towards the front of the park, and I was lagging behind a bit because I had been wearing  heels for the last five hours and my feet were killing me. A big group is sitting on a bench beneath the Astro Orbiter, and as I walk past they scream, “Mary! Can we get a picture?”  I waved, told them (in a terrible excuse for a British accent) that my group was leaving me behind, and kept walking.  “But we have Bert!”  They point behind me, and, sure enough there’s Bert the Chimney Sweep coming out of the bathroom.  His costume was fantastic, so of course I had to let them take pictures, and even got them take one with my camera.

Chim-Chiminee, Chim-Chim-Cheree, a pic with a sweep who's a stranger to me!

Chim-Chiminee, Chim-Chim-Cheree, a pic with a sweep who's a stranger to me!

In between posing for pictures, we watched the “HalloWishes” fireworks show, the “Boo to You” parade, and hung out with Jafar, the Queen of Hearts, and Frollo at the “Villains Mix-and-Mingle.”  We also hung out at the Character Dance Party in Tomorrowland, where we learned that Chip is a fantastic break dancer!  Check out Brit’s video by clicking here.

One more piece of news: although I had a fantastic time at the Halloween Party, and work has been going well, this week has been a little tough.  Of course, there’s been the usual drama that comes with trying to sign up for classes and fill out applications, but we also had a some bad news for the family.  My great uncle has been sick for a while: unexplainable weight loss, terrible muscle pains, and just general poor health.  A few days ago he was diagnosed with ALS, more commonly known as Lou Gehrig’s disease.  Please keep him and the entire family in your thoughts and prayers.  Pray for strength, peace, and healing, because no diagnosis or disease is too powerful for God.

Leave a Reply

