h1

Represent!

October 13, 2009

I’ve barely gotten over the lost nights of sleep, paper cuts, and worry-muscle cramps from applying for the CP, and now it’s time to do it all again.  I’m going to apply to be a Campus Representative for the CP, and the paperwork’s due November 1st.  That still sounds like quite a long ways away, but since I still don’t have any sort of resume, there’s going to be a lot of prep involved.

“What is a Campus Rep?” you might be asking.  Well, first of all, if your asking, you should really stop talking to your computer. (Sorry!  That’s a really dumb joke.) As the name implies, a Campus Rep represents the CP on their own campus!  All of the fliers advertising the recruiting sessions at my school?  They were hung by our Campus Reps.  The people who answered questions at these sessions? Campus Reps.  And the people who met up with us a couple of times before our program to answer any questions? Campus Reps. 

“But why would you want to be a Campus Rep?” you find yourself wondering,  Well, first of all…no.  I’m going to be good.  No stupid joke this time.  The answer is simple: free stuff and a boost to my as-yet-unwritten resume.  Campus Reps don’t get paid, but I would still be considered a Disney Cast Member, entitled to all the benefits thereof.  And as far as my resume goes, it would give it the much-needed campus involvement element that it’s currently missing.

My fantastic boyfriend is going to use his fantastic graphic design skills (see proof of his fantasticness by clicking here!) to create a fantastic letterhead for my resume.  He’s not doing anything too flashy, just going to give me a letterhead that will add a little pizzazz to my resume and make it stand out.  (I’m only dating him for his talent! ;))

I don’t have any idea how competetive it is, but I would imagine it all depends on your school.  And I’m pretty sure that most of  the Campus Reps from our school did their programs quite a while ago, so they may need some fresh blood!  We have a pretty large group of Campus Reps, too, so hopefully that will help.   On the other hand, they already have a a pretty large group of Campus Reps at our school, so maybe they don’t need anybody else!  Who knows?  I guess we’ll find out soon!  The process is sort of like it was for the College Program: I’ll send in my application, if they have an opening at my school, they may give me a call for an interview.  Unlike the CP, not everyone gets an interview.  Hopefully I’ll be one of those lucky few!

Leave a Reply

