h1

Lucky 13

October 8, 2009

13.  That’s how many days in a row I will have worked when I have my day off next Wednesday.  But I can’t complain too much, because it was (mostly) by my own choice. I was supposed to be off work yesterday and today, but a few days ago I picked up a treat shift at Mickey’s-Not-So-Scary for today.  Then a couple of days after that, I found a two and a half hour shift at my old stomping grounds on Discovery Island for this afternoon.  So, I figured, I’m already working on my day off, I might as well go ahead and make it a full day.  It would be nice to see everybody at Animal Kingdom again, anyway.  And I would still have one day off.  But then one of my managers at Epcot was desperately looking for help for yesterday.  One of the other girls was going out of town for a funeral, and so they needed somebody to cover her shift.  I didn’t have to take the shift, but I didn’t really have any plans anyway, and decided to volunteer.  And that is how I came to be working on my “weekend”—working an extra shift at Epcot on Wednesday, and working at Animal Kingdom and Mickey’s-Not-So-Scary on Thursday.  So by the time my next day off rolls around, I will have worked 13 days in a row.

It really hasn’t been bad so far.  Since I’m not going in to work until 3:30 most days, I still get to sleep in, lounge around the house, hang out with my roomies, and run errands before going into work.  And my paycheck will definitely be great next week! 

I just finished up the Animal Kingdom shift, and I’m killing time before my 9:00 shift at MNSSHP.  I’ve decided that this is definitely my favorite costume so far, although the headband does bring it down a bit.  But, hey, I’m happy anytime the costume gives me a waist and is half-way feminine. 

Costume for Mickey's Not-So-Scary

Costume for Mickey's Not-So-Scary

Speaking of costumes, I’ve been working feverishly to get my costume ready for the night I attend MNSSHP as a guest.  I’ve decided to go as Mary Poppins.  I have a little jacket that will work, I’m knitting a scarf, the shoes are in my closet, and my mom is making me a skirt.  The hat is really the only major detail I’m still missing.  I’ve looked on eBay and haven’t found any luck finding something I could transform, and tomorrow I plan to hit the thrift stores.  There just aren’t that many thrift stores here, though!  As small as Springfield is compared to Orlando, I think we definitely have them beat in the thrift store department.  But I’m going to give it the ol’ college try, and I’m sure I can find something that will work.  Even a baseball cap would look Mary Poppins-ish after I spray painted it black and stuck flowers and cherries to the brim!  (Okay, I’m just kidding about the baseball cap.  I’m not that desperate…yet.)

The titular nanny...

The titular nanny...

...and my (very) rough interpretion, based mostly on what I've got in my closet.

...and my (very) rough interpretion, based mostly on what I've got in my closet.

On one hand, I hate that I’m probably going to see the Halloween parade and fireworks tonight.  I don’t want to spoil anything before I get to come as a guest!  But I can’t deny how excited I am to see the shows, the costumes, and to get a little sneak peek for our own visit.  It will still be exciting the second time, and I’ll be here with all the girls, so what could better?  It’s time for me to head into the Utilidors, and towards Main Street for the festivities.  So until next time…Boo to You!

2 comments

  1. Your costume for MNSSHP is ADORABLE! Well, minus that crazy headband haha.

    Just wanted to say that I’ve been following your progress with the program ever since you posted on laughingplace.com about it way back in march/april. If you remember I was one of the LPers that wanted to try for the fall 09 season but got rejected because I wasn’t in classes at the time of my interview.

    Well your advice to try again for spring 2010 was a sucess😉 I got accepted for DLR spring 2010 in attractions! So excited!

    I’m glad the program is working out well for you, it looks like you are having a blast!


    • Yay! Congratulations, Kira! I’ll be interested to follow your blog and see how different things are at DLR! Have fun!



Leave a Reply

