h1

Does Anybody Even Read These Titles?

September 24, 2009

Today was one of those days where all sorts of events that I’d been looking forward to just so happened to fall on the same day.  I had the SALSA sale, the Cast Member preview for Food and Wine Festival, and my first real day at Epcot.  The first couple were sort of a bust, but the last one really was a nice change of pace.  The “SALSA” in SALSA Sale is supposed to stand for “Spend A Little, Save A Lot” (don’t ask me what happened to the extra L from ‘Lot’!) But today I didn’t even spend a little!  We got there right as the sale was supposed to be beginning, but everyone was still standing in a line outside.  Come to find out, they only let in a few people at a time to keep the place from getting too crowded.  We waited for almost an hour before we finally got inside, only to be disappointed by what we found.  there were lots of things to choose from, but nothing that grabbed our attention, and certainly nothing worth waiting through the crazy lines for.  So we left empty-handed.

After a little rest at the apartment, we headed over to the Cast Preview for the Food & Wine Festival, which was fun, but the booths didn’t open until 1:00, and I had to start work at 3:45, so we didn’t get very many places.  I only ate at the South Africa ki0sk, where I had the beef tips with sweet potatoes and mango chili sauce.  Although the portion was tiny for the price, it was delicious and I definitely could have eaten an entire meals’ worth.  We had a good time, but I have to say that I think I enjoyed working the Festival this evening more than I enjoyed attending it as a guest.  I worked in the booth where Heather French, an artist who has designed the festival’s poster in the past, was selling her own paintings, and it was really neat to hear someone talk about their work like that.  I really hope to get to know Ms. French better when I work in her booth, because I would love to hear how she became the “unofficial artist” of the Epcot Festivals. 

Almost everything else about our booth was nice, too, and I really had a good time getting to know people.  Things at Epcot are definitely much different than at Animal Kingdom, and there were a few bugs that will hopefully be worked out for the Grand Opening tomorrrow.  For one, there are no lights in the stock trailer!  None at all!  Lights are sort of important, ya know?

 Because today was our “Soft Opening”, we closed at 8:00, an hour earlier than normal.  But we were scheduled to work until 9:45, so they sent us over to “Mouse Gear”, Epcot’s enormous store, to finish out the night.  All I can say is that I’m glad I don’t work there all of the time!  I didn’t like their setup at all: it was really crowded behind the registers, and the store is just overwhelmingly large.

It was a fun day, but I have to admit I’m glad it’s over.  My knees are killing me!  I’m too young to hurt this badly!  I just keep thinking how great all of this walking is going to be for my legs: who needs to do extracurricular exercise when they walk around the World every day at work?

Leave a Reply

