h1

A Whole New World (Well, Park, At Least!)

September 17, 2009

I know I”ve said it before, but today was a very, very long day.  Could be because I got less than four hours of sleep last night! 

It all started yesterday with a good, responsible decision.  Brit, Melissa, Holly, and I went to the Cool Beans Cafe over at Vista Way.  I have to say, this was my favorite housing event yet.  Karaoke.  What else can I say?  I love the spotlight, so I sang a song, and then Brit and I did a duet.  We chose that great standard, “I’ll Make a Man Out of You” from Mulan, complete with human-video style motions.  It was super fun. There were a lot of really entertaining performances, but I’m pretty sure ours was the best. 😉 We actually had strangers come up to us after we were done just to tell us how awesome we were!

But a little after 10:00, I decided to do the responsible thing and go back to Chatham so I could get some sleep because I knew I needed to be at work at 8:00 this morning.  So I called Erik on my way back, and as we were talking, he asked me what time I was getting off tonight.  Well, when I looked at my schedule to check, I noticed that it said I was supposed to be at Epcot for Food  & Wine Festival Training this morning!  It was 11:30, and I had no shoes, no costume, and no idea where I needed to go for training.  Just to say “Epcot” isn’t really enough information!  It’s huge! 

So I ran out the door to Wal-Mart to buy the requisite white tennis shoes, waited through the world’s longest line (apparantly, Wal-Mart is the cool place to be on a Wednesday night in Orlando), and rushed back home so I could get in bed.  Finally, just after 1:00 AM, I was flipping off the light.  Costuming would open at 7:00, which would give me an hour to get my costume, figure out where I needed to be, and get clocked in for work at 8:00.  But, alas, I wasn’t to get the four and half hours of sleep that I was hoping for, because I woke up with a nosebleed at 5:00 this morning!  Half an hour before my alarm was supposed to go off!  Ugh! 

So the day didn’t exactly get off to a great start.  But at least I got out the door on time this morning, had no trouble getting my costume, and even found the training group!  Come to find out, though, I WAS SUPPOSED TO COME IN BUSINESS DRESS!  They made a mistake on my schedule, and didn’t put that it was supposed to be a Park Discovery Day, like DAKlimation at Animal Kingdom.  So they moved my Discovery Day to Monday, and had me do the training for Monday today.  It was a real mess.  And the worst part of it was, if I had only known that I could wear business casual, I would have been able to easily get in 6 hours of sleep!  6!

The training itself was a whole other story, but one that I just don’t have the energy for right now.  I mean, you heard the story!  So check back for part 2 of this epic adventure, which I will finish after a quick nap!  (or tomorrow.  Probably tomorrow. :))

Leave a Reply

