h1

Taking Advantage of The Perks

September 11, 2009

Hi, there!  My name is Bethany, this is my blog!  It’s been a long time, so I thought I’d better introduce myself!  Now that that’s out of the way, I can update you all.  Not that there’s much happening: I’m working, hanging out with my roommates, and trying to help arrange travel plans for all of the friends and family I have coming to visit me very soon.  My boyfriend, one of my best friends and her boyfriend, my grandparents, and my parents and brothers are all coming down at seperate times in October and November.  There’ve been a hundred different details that I have to check out for them because of my special Cast Member rates.  Not to mention trying to get at least some time off when each group is here.  But I’m glad to be doing it, and I can’t wait to see all of them.

Earlier this week, Melissa, Brit and I went to Property Control: the Cast Members-only store where damaged items can be bought at a steep discount.  It wasn’t the first time I’d been, but it was the first time I’d had any luck finding anything.  I definitely had a good trip this time, though: I bought $80 worth of merchandise for $12.  The crown jewel of my shopping experience?  The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror version of Clue.  I absolutely love the original game, and I wanted this version from the first time I saw it in the store.  Unfortunately, the original price was $40.  I wasn’t about to pay that, but lucky me, it was only $10 at Property Control!  The only problem with it is a small dent in the corner of the storage tin.  But otherwise it’s perfect!  I also bought a couple of park DVDs for $1 each. 

I had the day off today, so Brit and I spent it at Epcot.  This is my first time being in Epcot since I came with my family three years ago.  A lot has changed since then, and, since this park has never been my family’s favorite, there were still a lot of things there that I had never done before.  So we decided to do the whole park as tourists: be there when it opens, stay till it closes, and try to see everything in one day.  We started off the morning in Future World, and moved into World Showcase when it opened.  Universe of Energy and Journey Into Your Imagination were both new to me, though I don’t really feel like I was missing much. lol.  Both of them were pretty lame.  Even Eric Idle couldn’t save JIYI.  And I’ve also decided that Figment isn’t a cute dragon…he’s scary!  That’s supposed to be a kid’s ride, but there was just something about that creepy little lizard that I didn’t trust. 

I’m kidding of course, but both of these rides were slight disappointments.  One thing that didn’t disappoint, though, was the food throughout World Showcase.  I started off the day with the Cassolette d’escargots de Bourgogne au beurre at Chefs de France.  This was an appetizer, but I had it for a light lunch.  It was escargot (snails, for the uninitiated) cooked in parsley and garlic and was absolutely delicious!  I had never had escargot before, and was a little unsure about whether or not I would be able to eat it.  But I had no problem, and would order the same dish again in a heartbeat.  We followed up Chefs de France with Restaurant Marrakesh, where Brit and I split an order of Bastilla, a delicious pastry dessert.  The food in France was my favorite of the day, but this was my favorite restaurant.  While we ate, a live band, complete with belly dancer, performed, making the experience wonderful even beyond the food.  I rounded out the day with a potato, goat cheese, and vegetable tart in Norway at Kringla Bakeri og Kafe, sushi in Japan at Tokyo Dining, and a gelato in Italy.  This last was, I suppose, the most disappointing thing of the day.  It wasn’t really gelato; just ice cream!  But still, it was good chocolate ice cream, so how much can I complain?

Tomorrrow I will be working my first full day as a Merchantainer, which means that I just walk the floor trying to help guests.  I hear it can be a long, boring way to pass the day, but I’m hoping for the best!  Tomorrow will also begin my new experiment:  I’m going to start taking the bus to work.  I’m tired of wasting gas!  Plus, this way I can grab my Pop Tarts, take a book, and relax on the trip to work instead of trying to navigate traffic.  Sounds like a win-win situation to me!  There are definitely some down-sides though.  I’ll have to leave a little earlier in the mornings, and there’s always a chance of the buses running late, causing me to be late.  That wouldn’t be good.  But I’m at least going to give it a shot, and we’ll see how it goes tomorrow!

2 comments

  1. Keep up the good work! I like reading your blogs. Good luck with the bus rides to work. I know you are excited about your boyfriend and your family going down for a visit. love ya, Aunt Brenda


  2. Hey, keep up the awesome work.. I’ve been sorta following your blog because I was interested in the CP Program. Having grown up here in Florida then joining the Air Force and coming back this program has always been of interest to me. You have a wonderful ‘disney’ smile.. lol The video blog you posted, I could hear the passion you have for what you do. Keep at it, God bless – Chris



Leave a Reply

