h1

Merchantainment!

August 19, 2009
Today, I had “Merchantainment” training.  (Disney, how I love thee. Only you could take a boring training class, make it somewhat entertaining, and give it such an awesome name.)  This was another class at Disney University, and is one that all Merchandise Cast Members take.  The four girls I will be working at Discovery Island were also there.  It’s really nice that I’m starting to really get to know some people: I have a group I can sit with in the cafeteria, and friends to hang out with on days off.  It was scary to move so far away from home, where I had such old friends, but it’s been surprising how close I’ve gotten with people already.  I’m actually getting ready to go out for sushi with my roommates, and yesterday, Brit and I went to Hollywood Studios. 
Me and Brit at DHS

Me and Brit at DHS

We had a great time, and I think Hollywood Studios (f.k.a. Disney-MGM Studios) is even better than I remember.  The highlight of the day was Fantasmic, their nighttime extravaganza.  We had to get there an hour and a half early, in the rain, to get a seat, but that didn’t ruin our night!  In fact, we had a great time.  The entire stadium did the wave for almost 20 minutes (trust me, it was more exciting than it sounds) and then our Cast Member training kicked in–we started a miniature dance party in our seating area.  We were having a great time, and the people around us were defiinitely enjoying it–clapping, shouting, and even video taping us.  Sure it was a little silly, but we were having so much fun, we really didn’t care.

In our class today, we finally learned to work the register.  In high school, I worked for a company that developed Point-of-Sale software for hardware stores, but I’ve never actually worked a real regiser.  So the software components are familiar, but the hardware is a litle more confusing for me.  I know I’ll get it eventually, but there’s just so much to remember right now!  I have tomorrow off, but I don’t think I’ll get into the parks again.  I need to do laundry, run some errands, and all kinds of non-fun stuff.  I might also go check out the local mall, and try to get a library card.  It will be nice to see some of the non-touristy areas of Orlando, but I have to say: today marks one week since check-in, and, if possible, I’m even more excited about working for Disney than I was last week, so it will be nice to get back onto property and back into the park on Friday.

One comment

  1. Horrary!



Leave a Reply

