h1

Packing

July 31, 2009

I’ve been trying to pack for Disney a little bit at a time for a couple of weeks now, but I’ve still got the majority of my stuff left, and it’s time to really get serious about it.  Unfortunately, my car is back in the shop for a few more small repairs, which means that I can put things in boxes to my little heart’s content…but then I don’t have anywhere to put the boxes.   I’m not sure when I’ll get it back.  Definitely before I leave, but, other than that, who knows?  The resulting gigantic pile of crap has been nothing but a sore spot with me for a week now, and it’s getting worse instead of better.  Every day the pile of “packed” crap gets bigger, leaving me with less and less floor space, and less and less sanity. 

At least one part of the packing process is going smoothly: I haven’t had any trouble finding boxes to pack in. I bought a couple of Tupperware containers that I can use to pack in and then use for storage in the apartment, and I’ve also been hoarding boxes and packing materials left over from work.  I’m also going to pack in laundry baskets, backpacks, and anything else that I can put to use or store easily while I’m in Florida.

It’s been very strange trying to decide what to take: 5 months isn’t long enough to take everything that I own, but it’s long enough that I need to take almost everything.  Unlike packing for a week or two, it’s not about choosing which items are necessities and which ones are luxuries; it’s about deciding which items are the necessary luxuries.  It’s also been difficult, because I don’t know what my roommates are bringing.  It’s nice to have a toaster oven, but we don’t need 6 toaster ovens in one apartment. 

Adding to the chaos are the boxes of stuff still being moved out of our old house.  These need to be unpacked, and it’s getting hard to find the space for everything.  Boxes for packing on one side of the room, boxes for unpacking on the other.  Ugh!  I’m really excited about leaving for Disney…but right now I think I’m just more excited about being done with packing.

Leave a Reply

